Due to our Annual Company Training, our Customer Happiness Center will be closed on Friday, December 9th. We will reopen on Saturday, December 10th. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Parenting a New Teen Driver in CT
Are you worried about your teen driving? While it may help with your own convenience, it can also lead to some sleepless nights. The Next Street is here to help – not only to teach your teen the right way to drive, but also to help you be a “good coach.” Use the following tips and tricks to set your house rules now so there are no questions later.
FREE PARENT’S GUIDE E-BOOK
sure what your role as a “driving coach” entails? Download this Free Parent’s
Guide to Driver’s Education eBook, compiled through years of experience by the
award winning instructors at The Next Street.
For Parents: Connecticut New Teen Driver Requirements
- In order to begin the Driver’s Licensing process in CT, your teen must be 16 years old.
- Your teen cannot test for their Learner’s Permit or begin Driver’s Education until their 16th birthday.
- In Connecticut, the new license process is all overseen by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
- The Next Street recommends your teen schedule their Permit Test as they are nearing their 16th birthday.
- The DMV wait times for a Learner’s Permit can be 8-14 weeks.
- Your teen must hold a Learner’s Permit for 120 (If they take the Full Driver Education Course) or 180 days (If they take the minimum requirement 8 Hour Safe Driver Education Course).
- While holding their permit, your teen is required to log 40 hours of time behind the wheel. This time can either be done with a Driving School or with anyone that has had their license for 4 years, with no suspensions.
- After your teen has completed the required driving time and held their Permit for the required wait period, they will take their Driver’s License Test – which is a 20-30 minute behind the wheel assessment.
- Upon obtaining their Driver’s License, your New Teen Driver is subject to the Connecticut Graduated License Laws until they expire or your teen turns 18 years old, whichever comes first.
Parent’s Involvement in Teen Driver Training
- When your teen is learning to drive, you are going to want to be involved. We encourage that involvement. In fact, the more reinforcement of the laws, safety regulations and proper driving techniques that your teen gets, the better.
- The State of Connecticut requires that all new divers under the age of 18 have a minimum of 40 hours of behind the wheel practice with a qualified trainer before they can test for their license.
- To be considered a Qualified Trainer, you must be must be 20 or older, and have held a driver license for at least 4 years with no suspensions during the past 4 years.
- As long as these requirements are met, Qualified Trainers can include the spouse of a married minor (under 18) applicant, a parent, grandparent, foster parent or legal guardian.
- If the applicant has no spouse, parent, grandparent, foster parent or guardian who is qualified & available: a step parent, brother, sister, uncle or aunt, by blood or marriage.
The Parent as a Driving Coach
- While The Next Street offers additional Private Driving Instruction, many parents want to spend some time driving with your teen.
- If you are serving as a Driving Coach, seeing how your teen is progressing can be very eye opening.
- Questions to ask yourself include:
- What are their strong suits?
- Where do they need improvement?
- Are they having trouble learning how to back out of a space?
- Go over information with your teen a few times. The more they are exposed to the actual task of driving, the better they will become at it.
- We have a very useful Parent/Student Driving Log to help you and your teen reach those 40 hours while providing a general outline of what to practice.
Parent Driver’s Education Class
- As your teen signs up for Driver's Education, you are also getting signed up.
- As a first step, there is a mandatory 2 hour Parent Class – which both you and your teen must attend.
- If you are unable to attend the 2 hour Parent Class, your teen will be unable to test until they are 18 years old.
- The Parent Class will cover such topics as State Teen Laws, Social Host Laws, and your role as a Driving Coach.
Teen Driving Restrictions
- In the State of Connecticut, there are certain driving restrictions for 16 and 17 year olds, both when they have a Learner’s Permit and a Driver's License.
- With a Learner’s Permit, the only passenger a 16 or 17 year old can have is a parent, legal guardian or Qualified Trainer for the duration of the permit. However, a parent or guardian may accompany the Driving Instructor on any driving lessons.
- All passengers in the vehicle must use permanently installed seat belts.
- Any cell phone (even if hands-free) or other mobile electronic device may not be used while driving. This includes any hand-held computer or other device with a video display.
- For the first 6 months after obtaining a Driver’s License, a 16 or 17 year old may only drive with a Licensed Driving Instructor, their parents or legal guardian (at least one of whom holds a valid driver license) – or a person providing instruction who is at least 20 years old, has held a license for at least 4 years with no suspensions during the last 4 years.
- For the second 6 months after obtaining a Driver’s License, a 16 or 17 year old may drive with the above people or with immediate family (such as brothers and sisters).
- Until they turn 18, your teen may not drive between hours of 11pm – 5am unless it is for employment, school, religious activities or a medical necessity.
- More information: The Curfew Law Regarding Prom Season
- Along with the mandated driving restrictions by the State of Connecticut, you may want to set your own house rules.
- It is important that you stress the consequences if any mandates or house rules are violated – and be prepared to enforce them.
- The Next Street has created a Parent/Teen Driving Agreement that you may use to help lay out the obligations of both you and your teen, as well as the consequences of a violation.
Insuring Your New Teen Driver
- The Next Street new Teen Driver graduates receive an additional 10% auto insurance discount, through our partnership with Liberty Mutual insurance.
- To learn more about insuring your teen and see if you have the right coverage, contact our Insurance Specialist – Myra Leuci – by going to our Insurance Discount page, by calling 1-203-598-7177 x52017 or by visiting the Myra Leuci website.